Grief and the tyranny of things

_1Good afternoon.

Rebecca here, Lead Calmologist here at Calmology and daughter of the much beloved Catherine McLean.

I decided to open this business after my mother died and I successfully handled the dissolution of her household. It took me a full year.

My mother had accumulated many beautiful things and, by the end of that year of sorting and clearing, I realized that she had made it possible for four households plus her sister and brother, her friends, charity organizations, and some of my friends who loved her to all have many beautiful things.

A year ago October 31, I left her apartment–the last place I knew her alive–and continued the clearing of her things in another space. I also decided to go through everything I had kept and I reduced my holdings immensely. I still think I have too many things.

I’m here to help you clear your life of objects loved and unloved, useful and useless in order to make room for you and the Now. What I learned as I touched everything my mother possessed at least once, is that once they were gone, I was freer than when they were in the house with me. I cleared emotions as well as things and every time I released the energy of her things by giving them away I felt a new measure of calm.

I can help you attain calm in your surroundings, which, I hope, can contribute to a sense of inner calm and being centered and grounded.

Let’s create calm together.

